IAUP Executive Committee Members at 8th EWORA Conference

IAUP Executive Committee Members at 8th EWORA Conference

The 8th EWORA Conference, held at Kadir Has University in Istanbul on November 2-3, 2023, brought together more than sixty distinguished academics to explore the theme of global female leadership with a special focus on “Global Female Leadership and the Future of Universities”, including Dr. Gulsun Saglamer, President of EWORA as well as Dr. Elizabeth Stroble, Elizabeth (Beth) J. Stroble, Chancellor of Webster University. Both Presidents serve as members of the IAUP Executive Committee and play pivotal roles in the IAUP’s strategic initiatives related to Women’s Leadership.

One of the insightful roundtable sessions, titled “Transformational Leadership under the High Speed of Change,” featured both Presidents as speakers, alongside colleagues from Glasgow Caledonian University and University of the Aegean.

In another engaging roundtable session, “15th Anniversary of the European Women Rectors Conference Series,” chaired by Christina Ullenius, Former Rector of Karlstad University, participants reflected on the progress made in gender equality over the past 15 years. The session included valuable insights from notable speakers, including Dr. Stroble.

The event marked the 15th anniversary of the European Women Rectors Conference Series, addressing the persistent underrepresentation of women in senior leadership positions in higher education and research. It also delved into the achievements, challenges, and opportunities faced by women rectors and senior leaders, emphasizing methodologies to enhance their effectiveness.