Women Rectors Across Europe, Women Leadership in Higher Education

12-14 April 2010, Istanbul

Women academics’ under-representation at top levels of administration in universities is undoubtedly a serious problem across the world. The objectives of the “Beyond The Glass Ceiling: Women Rectors Across Europe, Women and Leadership In Higher Education” Conference are to examine the position and the experiences of women in higher educational administration and discuss the strategies that have been/can be used to improve the inclusion of women at this level. The conference aims to achieve these objectives through analysis and comparison of different international practices and policies.

One other goal of the conference is to attract attention of such higher education instutions as EUA (European University Association), IAU (International Association of Universities), IAUP (International Association of University Presidents) SEFI (European Society for Engineering Education) and CUM (Community of Mediterranean Universities) to women’s representation problems at administration and ask their support and help to create networks and platforms of collaboration regarding these objectives.

The second conference on “Beyond The Glass Ceiling: Women Rectors Across Europe, Women and Leadership In Higher Education”, was hosted by ITU and supported by IAUP (International Association of University Presidents) and EUA ( European University Assosication), and held in Istanbul on 12-14 April 2010. The chair of the organizing committee of the conference was Prof. Dr. Gülsün Saglamer who is the former rector of Istanbul Technical University.

The first “Women Academics Beyond the Glass Ceiling: Women Rectors across Europe” Conference was held with the attendance of 8 European and 10 Turkish participants on the 11th of November 2008. The following participants attended this year’s conference:


1 Margret Wintermantel Germany HRK German Rectors Conference
2 Ursula Nelles Germany University of Münster
3 Ingrid Moses Avusturalia University of Canberra
4 Carmen Lamagna Bangladesh American International University
5 Liu Jinan China Communication University of China
6 Liu Liqun China Communication University of China
7 Wu Jianhua China Nanjing Institute of Technology
8 Qin He China Jilin Huaqiao Foreign Languages Institute
9 Marja-Liisa Tenhunen Finland Central Ostrobothnia University of Applied Sciences
10 Krista Varantola Finland University of Tampere
11 Gordana Kralik Croatia Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek
12 Carmen Fenoll Spain University of Castilla-La Mancha
13 Agnete Bladh Sweden University of Kalmar
14 Lena Nordholm Sweden University of Boras
15 Kerstin Noren Sweden Karlstad University
16 Christina Ullenius Sweden Karlstad University
17 Kristin Ingólfsdóttir Iceland University of Iceland
18 Tatjana Volkova Latvia BA School of Business and Finance
19 Cristina Robalo Cordeiro Portugal University of Coimbra
20 Maria Helena Nazare Portugal Universidade de Aveiro
21 Helena Pereira Portugal Technical University of Lisbon
22 Cristiana Cristureanu Romania "Dimitrie Cantemir" Christian University
23 Corina Dumitrescu Romania "Dimitrie Cantemir" Christian University
24 Fuada Stankovic Sirbia University of Novi Sad
25 Milota Vetráková Slovakia Matej Bel University Banska Bystrica
26 Alexandra Bitusikova Slovakia Matej Bel University Banska Bystrica
27 Iryna Morozova Ukraine Odessa National Maritime University
28 Iryna Savelieva Ukraine Odessa National Maritime University
29 Ahsen Özsoy Turkey Istanbul Technical University
30 Canan Efendigil Karatay Turkey Istanbul Technical University
31 Derin Ural Turkey Istanbul Technical University
32 Gülsün Sağlamer Turkey Istanbul Technical University
33 Tereza Varnalı Turkey Bogazici University
34 Mine G. Tan Turkey Istanbul Technical University, Ankara University
35 Necla Pur Turkey Marmara University
36 Nuran Zeren Gülersoy Turkey Istanbul Technical University
37 Semra Ülkü Turkey Izmir Institute of Technology
38 Sevil Gürgan Turkey Hacettepe University
39 Sezer Komsuoglu Turkey Kocaeli University
40 Tuncay Döğeroğlu Turkey Anadolu University
41 Yeşim Arat Turkey Boğaziçi University
42 Çiğdem Kayacan Turkey Istanbul University
43 Gülay Kıroğlu Turkey Mimar Sinan University
44 Güzin Konuk Turkey Mimar Sinan University
45 Dilek Boyacıoğlu Turkey Istanbul Technical University
46 Kadriye Bakırcı Turkey Istanbul Technical University
47 Seyhan Uygur Onbaşıoğlu Turkey Istanbul Technical University
48 Nilgün Okur Turkey Istanbul Technical University
49 Emine Görgül Turkey Istanbul Technical University